PDA

View Full Version : Travel passport - could not find any information on the web

elfy
07-27-2004, 11:40 PM
Please, post a link on how to get a travel passport: everywhere I looked was only information about US pasports and visas. What if I am only a permanent resident and want to get a Travel Pasport?
Thanks.

Vikk
07-28-2004, 10:23 AM
If You are a greencard holder You do not need to get travel document and can use Your regular passport given by Your homeland.

elfy
07-28-2004, 11:48 AM
I agree, that I DON'T HAVE TO have a travel passport if I have a green card, but in case I just prefer to show a US issued travel document when I go to the embassy of some Western European country to get a visa to travel there, rather than my Russian passport, how do I get the Travel Passport?
Also, is it even possible to get a Travel Passport for someone who is not an asylee here? As far as I understood from the info that I DID find on the Internet, a travel passport is only issued to those, who have a status of refugees, that doesn't allow them to get a passport from their own country.
Maybe I am wrong.
Thank you for your comments.

Lovely
07-29-2004, 03:13 AM
Hi,

please check the following details:

http://uscis.gov/graphics/howdoi/travdoc.htm

All the best,
Lovely

Lev Kobrin
07-29-2004, 07:51 AM
Для обладателей гринкарты трэвел паспорт нужен, и во многих случаях. Иначе такой документ (Reentry Permit) не существовал бы вообще.

elfy
07-29-2004, 05:34 PM
Reentry Permit is required for those who leave the US for more than one year;
Advance Parole - for those who do not have the status of a permanent resident yet;
Refugee Travel Document - for those who have the status of refugee here.
... none of the above pertains to me
so, the question about Travel Passport remains - what is Travel Passport? Is it something different from the three travel documents mentioned above? So far, I've been traveling abroad without it, and I've never had any problems.