PDA

View Full Version : Family reunion

alvina
05-15-2006, 09:33 PM
I am currently a permanent resident. I am going to apply for an American citizenship beginning of January 2007. My mother got B1 visa. My understanding that the longest period of time she can stay in the U.S. is 6 months.
1. Can I start family reunion process for my mother straight after I apply for citizenship ?
2. Is it possible to start family reunion process while she is in the U.S. on B1 visa? What is the time frame for this process?
3. Will she have to leave the U.S. while her case will be pending?
4. Is there any legal way to extend her stay in the U.S. after her being in the U.S. 6 months without any complication and jeopardizing her status?

If anyone had a similar situation , I would greatly appreciate any advice on this matter.

Дядя_Федор
05-15-2006, 10:57 PM
I am currently a permanent resident. I am going to apply for an American citizenship beginning of January 2007. My mother got B1 visa. My understanding that the longest period of time she can stay in the U.S. is 6 months.

How long your mother can stay in the US is determined by an immigration officer at the port of entry. It will be written on her i-94 card.

1. Can I start family reunion process for my mother straight after I apply for citizenship ?

No. You must have your Certificate of Naturalization when you petition to bring your mother into the US. This means you have to be a citizen at that time.

2. Is it possible to start family reunion process while she is in the U.S. on B1 visa? What is the time frame for this process?

She can apply for an adjustment of status while in the US, yes. When you become a citizen and your i-130 is approved, that is. The course of action, however, is different depending on whether your beneficiary in inside the US or abroad. The time frame could also be different in the two cases.